h1

The Best Films of the 1990s

November 8, 2009

With just a few weeks of this decade still to go I’ve got to get my skates on coming up with a list of my favorite films of the ’00s and to be honest I’m not really looking forward to it. So in lieu of that for now I have dug up my Best of the ’90s list which, I’m happy to say, I still stand by ten years later. I never would have thought the ’90s were a particularly strong decade for cinema but I doubt my top ten of the ’00s is going to be anywhere near as strong as this.

 

Bestof90sA

1. A BRIGHTER SUMMER DAY (Edward Yang, Taiwan, 1991)
2. SATANTANGO (Bela Tarr, Hungary, 1994)
3. NAKED (Mike Leigh, UK, 1993)
4. THE AGE OF INNOCENCE (Martin Scorsese, USA, 1993)
5. GOODFELLAS (Martin Scorsese, USA, 1990)


Bestof90sB

6. HEAT (Michael Mann, USA, 1995)
7. DREAM OF LIGHT (Victor Erice, Spain, 1992)
8. BREAKING THE WAVES (Lars Von Trier, Denmark, 1996)
9. MY SEX LIFE (Arnaud Desplechin, France, 1996)
10. BOOGIE NIGHTS (Paul Thomas Anderson, USA, 1997)


Runners-up: AND LIFE GOES ON and THROUGH THE OLIVE TREES (Abba Kiarostami), BLUE (Krzysztof Kieslowski), THE GARDEN (Derek Jarman), GOODBYE SOUTH GOODBYE (Hou Hsiao Hsien), THE HOURS AND TIMES (Christopher Munch), INSTITUTE BENJAMENTA (The Brothers Quay), IN THE COMPANY OF MEN (Neil LaBute), JEANNE LA PUCELLE (Jacques Rivette), THE LONG DAY CLOSES (Terence Davies), A MOMENT OF INNOCENCE (Mohsen Makhmalbaf), NAKED LUNCH (David Cronenberg), NIL BY MOUTH (Gary Oldman), NOUVELLE VAGUE (Jean-Luc Godard), PORTRAIT OF A LADY (Jane Campion), PULP FICTION (Quentin Tarantino), STONE (Alexander Sokurov), THE THIN RED LINE (Terrence Malick).

 

One comment

  1. Great list. You know film.



Leave a Reply

