h1

Movie poster of the week: Pickpocket

January 17, 2009

This week I treated myself to the amazing Art of the Modern Movie Poster, a 500 page treasure chest of postwar movie poster design produced by the good folks at Posteritati, with text by Dave Kehr. One of the standouts in the accompanying exhibition at Posteritati’s New York gallery is the Argentinian version of this stunning poster for Bresson’s Pickpocket designed by one Christian Broutin. It turns out that Broutin (who was born in 1933 and only 26 when he designed this) also designed the conceptually similar poster for Jules and Jim, another of my all-time favorite French affiches.

3 comments

  1. Hi

    I agree, great poster for both movies. Im writing an article about the pickpocket poster for a Danish film magazine. Do you perhaps know where I can find more information about this poster and/or the designer Christian Broutin?

    best regards,

    Henrik Østergaard


  2. Sorry Henrik, I wish I knew more about Broutin and I welcome any information readers can give me.



Leave a Reply

