h1

Movie poster of the week: The International

January 9, 2009

A Clive Owen shoot-out in the Guggenheim certainly makes for a striking poster, with great use of abstract space. Whether The International, Tom Tykwer’s first film since Perfume, will live up to its poster remains to be seen, but early last year I posted the one-sheet for The Bank Job and expressed skepticism that that film would be any good. It ended up being the very last film I saw in 2008 and a pleasant surprise, not the Guy-Ritchiesque lark that I expected but a much darker period piece, closer to Thirteen Days in the Roger Donaldson canon than to Cocktail. So I remain optimistic.

One comment

  1. The film looks ok, and I like the top half of the poster, but I hate the two little figures in the bottom corner. That cheap, badly photoshopped look really irritates me. The way their lines of sight are different, the awkward angle of her head – it looks awkward and unnatural. Lets down the rest of the poster somewhat, for me.



Leave a Reply

