h1

Answered prayers: Red Desert on Blu-ray

October 7, 2008

After being barely available on DVD (the murky Image release has been out of print for years) Antonioni’s Red Desert is coming out in the UK on October 20th not only in a brand new restoration, but on Blu-ray no less. One of my all-time favorite films, Red Desert is, for me, more like a place to visit than a narrative to follow. Like Playtime or Stalker it is a film of clearly defined spaces that you feel compelled to return to: the factory with its belching chimneys, the tiny red shack by the water’s edge, Monica Vitti’s modern condo, the idyllic beach in the bedtime story. I once told someone that if I had Warren Buffet’s bank account I would build a Red Desert theme park and that it would be the world’s greatest cinephile folly. For now I’ll make do with trying to figure out how to afford a region-free Blu-ray player.

One comment

  1. I have to check this out. Blow-up is my favorite Antonioni but this would be my second. I love the colors in this film; the red, the green, the black etc.



Leave a Reply

