h1

Movie poster of the week

November 2, 2007

Savages

Shame-faced update Nov 4: It’s now been drawn to my attention that this is by the great Chris Ware (as opposed to the great Dan Clowes). I’ve also discovered that Ware did an unused design for the Henry Darger documentary In the Realms of the Unreal but that apart from that it’s his first film poster.

The trailer for Tamara Jenkins’ The Savages makes it look like a bit of a Debbie Downer, but I love this poster which looks like it might be drawn by Dan Clowes, though I have a feeling it’s not (if anyone knows, please let me know). Clowes of course has drawn Philip Seymour Hoffman before. He also designed one of my favorite posters of all time, the promotional poster for the opening of New York’s Sunshine Cinema (which I’ll post as soon as I can find an image of it).

2 comments

  1. Funny…I was just about to send this to you as a contender for poster of the week!

    The artist is Chris Ware, of Jimmy Corrigan: The Smartest Kid in the World.


  2. Ah! Thanks for the info. I love Chris Ware’s work too. Is this the first film poster he’s done?



Leave a Reply

